Create you own custom course. Learn How?

 About Netherland

Netherlands, a nation in western Europe, bordered by the North Sea in west and north.

Border countries are Belgium, and Germany. The country also shares maritime borders with France and the United Kingdom.

European Netherlands is a low-lying country with around a quarter of its territory at or below sea level, it covers an area of 41,543 km² making it just slightly larger than Switzerland (41,285 km²) or half the size of the U.S. state of South Carolina.

Dutch Dependencies were the Caribbean islands of Aruba, and the Netherlands Antilles. On 10 October 2010 the Netherlands Antilles has been dissolved and its constituent islands have acquired a new status, Curaçao and St Maarten are now autonomous countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The islands of Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba have become special municipalities.

The Kingdom has a population of 16,785,000 (est. May 2013), capital and largest city is Amsterdam; seat of government is in the city of The Hague (Den Haag).

Spoken language is Dutch (official), recognized regional languages are West Frisian (in Friesland), Papiamento (in Bonaire), and English (in Sint Eustatius and Saba).

Fact File

Map of Netherland

Netherland Map

Netherland National Flag

 Netherland Flag
Netherland Currency
Netherland Currency
National LanguageDutch
Prime MinisterMark Rutte
Important CitiesAmsterdam, Assen, Almere, Leeuwarden, Nijmegen, Groningen, Maastricht
CurrencyEuro (EUR)
US dollar (USD) (Caribbean
Netherlands only)
Date formatdd-mm-yyyy
Drives on theRight
Calling Code+31