Create you own custom course. Learn How?

 About Latvia

Latvia, one of the three Baltic states, situated on the eastern shore of the Baltic Sea, between Estonia and Lithuania.
The country is also bordered by Russia and Belarus, and it shares maritime borders with Sweden.

With an area of 64,589 km², Latvia is about half the size of Greece, or slightly larger than the US state of West Virginia. Its mostly flat landscape offers a mix of beaches, rivers, lakes, marshes and forests. There are four major regions: West Latvia (Kurzeme), East Latvia (Latgale), North Latvia (Vidzeme), and South Latvia (Zemgale).

The country has a population of 1.95 million people (in 2017), capital and largest city is Riga, spoken languages are Latvian (official) and Russian, English (especially in business and tourism).

Fact File

Map of Latvia

Latvia Map

Latvia National Flag

Latvia Flag

Latvia Currency

Latvia Currency
National Language Latvian
Prime Minister Māris Kučinskis
Important CitiesRiga, Daugavpils, Liepāja, Jelgava, Jūrmala, Ventspils, Rēzekne
Date formatdd-mm-yy
Drives on theRight
Calling Code +371