Create you own custom course. Learn How?

 About Austria

Austria, officially the Republic of Austria, is a landlocked country in East Central Europe which borders the Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Switzerland.

The country covers an area of 83,871 km², making Austria somewhat smaller than Portugal (92,090 km²), or slightly smaller than the U.S. state of Maine.

The country is mostly dominated in the west and south by mountains (the Alps). Austria’s highest point is Grossglockner mountain, with a height of 3,798 m (12,460 ft.).

The major rivers north of the watershed of the Austrian Alps are the Inn, the Salzach, and the Enns, they are tributaries of the Danube. The rivers south of the watershed are the Gail and Drau rivers in Carinthia and the Mürz and Mur rivers.

Austria has a population of nearly 8.7 million people (in 2016), capital and largest city is Vienna, with a population of 1.8 million people. Spoken language is Austrian German (official), spoken regional languages are Croatian, Hungarian, and Slovene.

Fact File

Map of Austria


Austria Map

Austria National Flag


Austria Flag

Austrian Currency

National Language German
PresidentAlexander Van der Bellen
Important Cities Vienna, Salzburg, Graz, Linz, Innsbruck, Klagenfurt, Villach
Date format dd-mm-yyyy
Drives on the Right
Calling Code +43
Internet TLD .at